Finding Contentment, My One Word 2017

1/22/2017

When I started this journey, I was positive that my One Word would be happy. I hadn’t prayed about it yet; I knew that being unhappy was destroying my life. I dug in deeper through dictionaries and thesauruses. Then, I went to scripture.  I found several verses in the Bible that spoke to me.  Most profound to me was Paul speaking in Philippians 4: 11.  “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.”

More than once I have found strength within the pages of Philippians.  And those verses, God placed in front of me.  God has always given me what I need to be happy.  Always.  When I originally thought about #myoneword I knew unhappiness had overtaken my life.  But perhaps happy wasn’t the precise word for me. Perhaps, what I needed was to find a way to be content with the blessed life God has given me.

I do not have the relationship with God that I need to have.  I have known that for a long time too.  We attend church weekly and we pray throughout the day. My husband and I are working to raise our children to be God-centered Christians.  But God can easily become an afterthought for me.  I want to live a more God-centered life.  I need a more God-centered life. I need to learn to be content in whatever circumstances God has given me, just as Paul himself had done while in prison.  And, at the moment my circumstances are, well– good.  

So how do I find happiness and create a more God-centered life?  1Timothy 6:6 says, “Godliness with contentment is a great gain.”  Godliness is a God-centered life.  It grows, not through a series of actions, but through the presence of God in your life. For a devout Christian, contentment is a grace that grows over time.  It doesn’t come quickly and without work. As quoted above, Paul says: “I have learned to be content.”  How?  “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.”  (That, by the way, would be a check and double check for me too.)  “I have learned the secret of being content.” “I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.”

That’s worth repeating. “I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.”

My One Word for 2017: content.

My bible verse:  “Godliness with contentment is a great gain.” ~ 1Timothy 6:6  

I am going to find contentment in what God has given me.  I can do this.  

Leave a Reply

