The Ramblings of an Advocating Grumbler

(FYI–As I wrote and revised this, I was yelling in my mind the entire time. You may want to yell it out in your mind as you read it too.)

I am officially in a blogging funk. This is the reason I refused to start a blog in the first place. I am walking a fine line between advocate and grumbler. And I don’t want to be the grumbler. I have 7 partially finished pieces that are going nowhere because I feel like a whiner!!

Yes, I have celiac disease. Yes, I have vestibular neuritis. Yes, I have “the dreaded” cervical dystonia. Yes, I have battled chronic depression since I was a teenager. And let me tell you, none of the above conditions makes managing depression any easier. (Especially since my neurologist and I have an ongoing battle about why he says I can’t take any anti-depressants!!!!)

Crap.

I’m doing it again.

Look, here’s what I want people to know. During my worst times, I was positive I could not live my life for another day. And yet I did. Each and every flippin’ day I dragged myself out of bed. Do you want to know why? Because I am the most stubborn person I know! Very, very stubborn. So, stinkingly, unbelievably stubborn. Also a little combative. While those traits got me into mountains of trouble growing up, today they are the force that drives me forward.

Thinking back to when I was at my worst,  I remember the physical and mental war that raged within me every morning. I remember the doubt that taunted me. I remember thinking, “Can I do this again today?” The answer was always a “YES.” I always got out of bed.  No matter what, there wasn’t one day I stayed in bed.

Ever.

There was no way I would let any disease, disorder, or whatever define me! Especially not cervical dystonia. I became extremely proactive. My husband and I closely monitored the movements I made, every single day, day after day, month after month after month. And we discovered something amazing. We discovered that movements played a huge factor in triggering my dystonia episodes. We changed my life, my husband’s life, and our children’s lives to avoid these triggers as much as possible. And despite my neurologist shaking his head and saying it couldn’t be done, we did it.

Yep, we did it.

I am living proof that how your body is at this very second is NOT necessarily a life sentence. Do I still have rough days, absolutely! Do I have incredibly good days, yes! I AM IN SUCH AN AMAZING PLACE. Do I expect to always be in this place? Not a chance! (Ha, got ya there!) Look, I still have cervical dystonia and it’s not going anywhere. There’s no cure. And it’s starting to affect other areas beyond just my neck and shoulders. But I’m prepared. I’m still stubborn, and I know that I can take anything that is thrown at me.

Leave a Reply

