Link

 

Tomorrow is one of my favorite days, Easter! We celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus and His glorious promise of eternal life.  As I celebrate this day with family, I am grateful for the warm weather.  It will make my body happy and way more agreeable.  

I want to share something that I have not told many.  Reason being, if you don’t live with, or love someone, in chronic pain this will be hard to understand.  As an adult, my darkest point was when I spent 7 months in an episode of dizziness that I never thought would end.  My neurologist wasn’t sure of the cause. I was dizzy all day, every day.  Every single day. I recall the day about 5 months in when I  understood why a person living in chronic pain would choose to take his life.  Now, please don’t misunderstand me. I don’t condone suicide. I do not believe that is a choice.   My life is a cherished gift from God. All life is a gift from God.  But during that 7 month period, and at occasional times since then, God’s eternal promise is the only thing that gets me through.  Knowing that one day through eternal life,  I will no longer be bound to this Earthly body.  One day there will be no pain. That’s just enough to get me through. I do hope that day is far from now, though.

As I fumble through this journey with chronic pain and dizziness, I have asked: “Why me?” on more than one occasion.  But I never remember a time when I asked: “Why me, God?”  I  don’t blame God for my chronic pain.  Quite the opposite actually.  I thank God every single day.  I thank God for my health.  I thank Him for the health of my family.  And when my days are not so good, I thank God for getting me through the day. Truth be told, my life is wonderful.  

I have found much hope and relief from reading the Bible.  I have verses placed throughout my home, in my purse, on my desk at work, and reading these are therapeutic for me.  I have a verse for every character trait that I struggle with. I have a verse for strength, a verse for healing, a verse for letting go,  a verse for anxiety.  When my husband quit his job to pursue a different career, he put a verse near our computer. Several years later, it is still there and I read it nearly every day.

When I am in need of a verse, one is instantly there for me.  The perfect one. Every single time. I will end with one today from the Book of Colossians:

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body.  And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.  ~Colossians 3:15-17

Wishing all of you a safe and joyous Easter!

easter

 

© Amber Richilea and slapinthehead, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited.

 

 

Leave a Reply

